Sleep, perchance to rest

I’ve been sleeping horribly this past week, which can only get worse since I’ll need to be up extra early Saturday morning for a volunteer orientation thingy, then peppy all day for the Big Bang Theory marathon we’re doing. Gah. I know, first world problems.

On another note, Vampire Diaries and Nikita continue to be awesome. VD is just so satisfying in terms of how they write, act, and mother frakking follow through on their plots. When something happens in the Vamp Diaries universe, there are consequences. It’s so very satisfying after years of Smallville’s stupid DC mentality of “oops, better erase that part of someone’s personality so we don’t actually have to deal with the consequences of revealing Tom Welling’s powers” and other shitty character and plot decisions. As much as I love my comic books, I have good reason to be cutting back on buying many issues. I go straight for trades now, and only after I’ve previewed and gotten reviews from sources I trust. Cuz, one too many multi-universe crises and stupid Batman’s son and stupid Batman’s disappearance and okay, long overdue Batman’s move forward along with Nightwing’s growing up and stuff. Especially since the emphasis has always been on the fact that of the trinity, he’s the human.

Still, give me Vampire Diaries and Nikita and Mad Men any day. Actions have consequences, people react like people (not total idiots or perfect Mary Sues and Gary Stu’s), and the actors actually deliver.

Leave a Reply

