Slammin’ Salmon

Fixed the salmon, sort of. I used this recipe from allrecipes.com as a sort of guide. Very, very loosely, as a guide. Cuz I ended up packing the salmon in inches of brown sugar, then finding I had no bourbon, poured a good tumblerful of this wonderful Trappist ale all over it, let the booze soak in for thirty minutes, then broiled the whole shebang.

Which made for an unpalatable, overly sweet salmon.

Seriously, my teeth ached with each bite.

So today, I sauteed some onions and squash, a healthy dose of salt, cumin, cinnamon, and garlic powder, and mixed it all into the sauce. Reduced the sauce, and at the very end soaked in some lemon slices. The lemon slices really did the most to cut the sweetness, but due to all the spices, I got something very closely resembling a cross between Afghan cuisine and Ethiopian. I love the effect of the cinnamin and cumin. But honestly, it was still a bit too much sauce and bit too much sugar. Which is why I’m now boiling some potatoes to pan-fry.

I’m hoping that a bed of red potatoes will be the final step in cutting the awful sugary sweetness of this dish. Wish me luck!

In other news, I was filling out my swapbot profile, for which I made all these playlists that apparently aren’t allowed. So I’m going to try to post them here. Urgh. Formatting.

Leave a Reply

