The Best Laid Plans of Futuristic Robots and Women

I just finished watching the second episode of Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles, and the kickassery continues, although I’m still not an out and out FAN. It’s definitely got its moments, and Lena Headey being all badass alongside Summer Glau makes for a very happy Tess, but it’s taking me a while to get into the universe. I don’t know if I’m expecting something or if I’m just missing certain nuances but some of the dialogue isn’t doing it for me. I can feel that it’s well acted and filled with something but none of that emotional oomph has hit me yet. Well, hopefully, I’ll start to get into it with the upcoming episodes. Until Battlestar Galactica starts back up, this’ll do me nicely on the women kicking ass front. 🙂

 Other world-shaking events in the back end of nowhere, I’m headed up to Baltimore this weekend to visit mis amigos y para celebrar el cumpleano de “mi hija”, Nazia. I believe she’s turning 22, and this should be fun. Oh, darn, now that I think of it, it must’ve been Chris’ birthday, too. Gotta hand him a belated card or something. It’ll be nice to see people and have some late night chats without worries that they have work or classes the next day. I’m planning on staying ’til my underwear runs out or I get too in everyone’s faces. I doubt they’ll have much time after Intersession for crazy, little, ole me until graduation. No matter how many times I tell myself I wouldn’t have made it anyways, it still stings to think of my friends graduating this year without me. It’s nothing I haven’t brought upon myself but it still sucks a little. I’d like to go to support my friends but I dunno if I can take watching my class graduate and move on when I’ve basically stalled my life.

 On another conflicted note, I’m a horrible American citizen. I’ve yet to register as a Democrat ( in order to vote in the primaries), and even when I do, I’m still not completely sure who I’ll be voting for. It’s really down to H. Clinton or Obama, and I feel like it should be easier than I’m making it. I’m probably going to be spending more time  trolling through the Washington Post and other news archives for more of a history on the two candidates. Well, if I have time between my researching urban gang activities ( I don’t know yet if I want to go all Batman: Year One with the Mob or 100 Bullets with nitty, gritty modern gangs) and trying to think of which powers would complement Lee’s character and circumstances. Plus, I’ve got a couple of short stories ratttling around half-started and I’d really like to finish what stories I have before the very random and sporadic plot bunnies come back to bite me.

Leave a Reply

